What is Bereavement

Bereavement is an experience where we lose someone or something close to us. Death and loss are inevitable, and part of the grieving process includes shock, guilt, anger, sadness and numbness. If a loss is left unprocessed, emotional scars and long-term effects (leading to psychological difficulties) begin to surface.  

Stages of Bereavement

  1. Shock and disbelief 
  2. Denial 
  3. Anger and guilt
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance